Minutes of IMCoS AGM 2020

Draft for approval at 2021 AGM

Meeting Held on Wednesday 25th November 2020

1  Opening

It was not possible to hold the IMCoS AGM at the Royal Geographical Society prior to the London Map Fair as had been planned because restrictions on travel and assembly made necessary by the Covid-19 pandemic had resulted in the cancellation of both events. The Executive Committee opted to hold a virtual AGM with a shortened Agenda that covered only essential matters required by the constitution.

The Agenda and all the documents required for the meeting had been posted on the website in advance, and all members for whom the IMCoS Secretariat held e-mail addresses were sent newsletters giving details of the AGM voting procedure. The Executive Committee (EXCOM) held a virtual meeting to review the results once voting had closed.

Executive Committee members present were:

Hans Kok                               Chairman

Valerie Newby                        Vice Chairman

David Dare                             Gen. Secretary

Jeremy Edwards                      Hon. Treasurer

Jenny Harvey                         Advertising Manager

Ljiljana Ortolja-Baird              Journal Editor

Peter Walker                          Financial & Membership Secretary

Diana Webster                        Member

Katherine Parker                    Dealer Liaison

Mike Sweeting                       Recruitment, Marketing and Publicity

Cinzia Viviani                          Hon. Treasurer (designate)

EXCOM members were pleased to see that 81 members had taken part in the vote, considerably more than the number who would normally have been able attend in person in London.

2  Approval of Minutes of AGM 2019

The Minutes were adopted.  Voting was: For 76, Against 0, Abstain 6.

3  Approval of Membership Fees for 2021

The recommendation that all fees should remain unchanged for 2021 was adopted.  Voting was: For 80, Against 1, Abstain 0.

4 IMCoS Officers

The following officers offered themselves for re-appointment:

Peter Barber                President

Hans Kok                    Chairman

Valerie Newby-Scott   Vice Chairman

The officers were re-appointed.  Voting in all three cases was: For 80, Against 0, Abstain 1.

There being no other business, the Chairman closed the meeting.